Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.



SBOE Welcomes Panel on Safe Passage at Public Meeting

Monday, September 17, 2018
Dr. Lannette Woodruff to be honored

Washington, DC - The DC State Board of Education (SBOE) will hold its monthly public meeting on Thursday, September 20, 2018, at 5:30 pm in the Old Council Chambers at 441 Fourth St. NW. Members will hear from expert panelists on the safety-related policies that affect both DC Public Schools and public charter schools. The State Board will also recognize the achievements of former Ward 4 representative, Dr. Lannette Woodruff. All meeting documents can be accessed on the SBOE information-sharing site. The public meeting will air live on District Knowledge Network (DKN) and will be streamed live via Periscope for those community members who are unable to attend in person.

As the new school year progresses, education stakeholders across the District continue to devise ways to improve safety for students traveling to and from school. An expert panel will present to the SBOE on the biggest challenges regarding safe passage/safe transportation for District students and ways in which their organizations are working to promote safe passage. Panelists featured include Inspector Michael Coligan, School Safety Division, MPD; Marco Clark, CEO, Richard Wright PCS; Chalon Jones, Program Analyst, Deputy Mayor for Education (DME); Lauryn Renford, Student, Thurgood Marshall Academy PCS; and Faith Gibson Hubbard and Dan Davis from the Office of the Student Advocate.

The SBOE has been enriched by the service of Dr. Lannette Woodruff and will honor her with a ceremonial resolution for her tireless efforts helping to advance equity for District public school children. Dr. Woodruff was sworn in as the Ward 4 representative for the State Board of Education on January 2, 2017 and served through July 31, 2018.

The draft agenda of the meeting is below. Please note that the agenda may be altered, modified or updated without notice.

I.     Call to Order
II.    Announcement of a Quorum
III.   Approval of the Agenda
IV.   Approval of the Minutes
V.    Comments from the President of the DC State Board of Education
VI.   Comments from the State Superintendent of Education
VII.  Public Comment
VIII. Dr. Lannette Woodruff Ceremonial Resolution (VOTE)
IX.   Interim Ombudsman Appointment Resolution (VOTE)
X.    National Association of State Boards of Education Delegate (VOTE)
XI.   Safe Passage
XII.  Adjournment

All students, parents, and educators, and community members are invited to provide testimony at public meetings. Individuals and representatives of organizations who wish to comment at a public meeting are asked to notify Board staff in advance by phone at (202) 741-0888 or by email at [email protected] no later than 48 hours in advance of the meeting. An electronic copy of testimony must be received no later than 48 hours prior to the meeting. Individuals are asked to furnish their names, addresses, telephone numbers, and organizational affiliation, if any. Individuals must also bring at least fifteen (15) copies of their written statements with them to the meeting.

About the SBOE

The DC State Board of Education is an independent agency within the Government of the District of Columbia that advises the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE), the District’s state education agency. The State Board is comprised of nine elected representatives, each representing their respective wards, with one member representing DC at large, and two appointed student representatives. The State Board approves statewide education policies and sets academic standards, while OSSE oversees education within the District and manages federal education funding. More information about the SBOE can be found at