State Board of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Board Biographies

Jack Jacobson (President, Ward 2)

Karen Williams (Vice President, Ward 7)

Ashley Carter (At Large)

Laura Wilson Phelan (Ward 1)

Ruth Wattenberg (Ward 3)

Lannette Woodruff (Ward 4)

Mark Jones (Ward 5)

Joe Weedon (Ward 6)

Markus Batchelor (Ward 8)


Jack Jacobson was elected in 2012 to the State Board of Education following five years of service on the Dupont Circle Advisory Neighborhood Commission.
Karen Williams began her first term as the Ward 7 representative to the State Board on January 2, 2013. 
Ashley Carter (At Large)
Laura Wilson Phelan is a member of the DC State Board of Education representing Ward 1.
Ruth Wattenberg is a parent, school activist, education reformer, education policy wonk, and 30-year resident of DC. She was elected as the Ward 3 member of the D.C. State Board of Education in November 2014.
Lannette Woodruff (Ward 4)
Mark JonesMark Jones (Ward 5) Mark Jones is a business owner, community advocate, proud husband and father. Mark has deep roots in the District of Columbia. He is the son of the late Rev. L.B. Jones Senior, longtime pastor of the Springfield Baptist Church, located in the Shaw community. 
Joe Weedon was elected to State Board of Education representing Ward 6 in 2014. For over a decade, Joe has been a leading voice for educational reform in the District. Joe worked with community members from across the Ward to develop and implement DCPS’ Ward 6 Middle School Plan.
Markus Batchelor is a native Washingtonian and youth advocate, focused on equity and ensuring we close the opportunity gap. He was sworn in on January 2, 2017 as the youngest-ever elected member of the State Board of Education, where he represents the residents of Ward 8.