State Board of Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Student Advisory Committee

2018-2019 Student Advisory Committee

Thank you to all of the motivated students in the District who applied to serve as members of our Student Advisory Committee (SAC) next year. We are proud to announce the selection of Tatiana Robinson, a rising senior at Frank W. Ballou High School, and Marjoury Alicea, a rising senior at Capital City Public Charter School, as our two Student Representatives for the 2018-19 school year! Both Tatiana and Marjoury will serve as Student Representatives from September 2018 - June 2019.

For the length of their term, the Student Representatives will join the nine elected State Board members in their policy discussions, community engagement and will bring the voice of students directly to decision makers. The Student Representatives will participate in all SBOE activities, with votes being recorded but not affecting the outcome of any policy measure. They will also serve as co-chairs of the Student Advisory Committee, a volunteer group of more than thirty District students from 16 District high schools in both DC Public Schools and the public charter sector.

Ms. Robinson is returning for her second term as Student Representative. She plays four sports, is dual-enrolled at Howard University, sits on the DCPS Student Cabinet, and takes part in Ballou’s robotics team and girls’ mentoring program. Ms. Alicea is a member of the debate team, serves as a reading mentor, and volunteers as a food justice ambassador. She is the founder and president of her school’s ACLU club.

For the second year in a row, State Board members were excited to receive over 20 applications from students at 16 different public and public charter high schools who are interested in serving as Student Representative. State Board members reviewed the applications, which included essays, letters of recommendation, and information about extracurricular activities and awards.

The Student Advisory Committee serves as the voice of students in the State Board’s work. They are consulted on issues of policy before the Board. The Student Advisory Committee meets at least once per month. Each year, the Committee sends the SBOE a report on a matter of importance to District students, providing recommended next steps.

Below is the full list of the 2018-19 Student Advisory Committee:

Marjoury Alicea, co-chair | Capital City PCS
Tatiana Robinson, co-chair | Frank W. Ballou HS
Aaliyah Dick | Woodrow Wilson HS
Aaron Spruill | Friendship Collegiate Academy HS
Akhayla Reynolds | McKinley Technology HS
Aleghzia Smith | Friendship Technology Preparatory HS
Anna Brosowsky | DC International School
Arnedja Evans | Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Ayodeji Okuleye | Washington Latin Public Charter School
Chandler Nutall | School Without Walls HS
Daniel Rodriguez | Benjamin Banneker HS
Diana Shea | BASIS DC
Emma Quigg | BASIS DC
Hannah Dunn | Woodrow Wilson HS
Hannah Dorosin | Woodrow Wilson HS
Henry Addison Jr. | Benjamin Banneker HS
Imani Horton | Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Janae Chambers | Friendship Collegiate Academy HS
Jayna Brown | Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Jerome Foster II | Washington Leadership Academy
Joseph Soltani | Eastern Senior High School
Kasai Rogers | DC International School
Kaya Myers | Thurgood Marshall Academy
Khiya Derricott | Washington Latin PCS
London Hart | SEED PCS
Maya Woods-Arthur | Washington Latin PCS
Maya Gray | Benjamin Banneker HS
N'yana Martin | Thurgood Marshall Academy
Raquel Robinson | Friendship Technology Preparatory HS
Sifan Hunde | Benjamin Banneker HS
Siraj Carter | Washington Leadership Academy
Stephanie Chavez | Columbia Heights Educational Campus (CHEC)
Syamyia Beach | Frank W. Ballou HS
Winston Wardlaw | DC International School
Zachary Crouch | Benjamin Banneker HS

2017-18 Student Advisory Committee Final Report

At the May 16, 2018 SBOE Public Meeting, Student Representatives Tallya Rhodes and Tatiana Robinson, along with members of the SAC, presented a final report to the Board for consideration. The SAC met eight times over the course of the 2017-18 school year and selected two key topics that its members felt could be improved in the District’s public schools. The proposals submitted by the SAC focused on college readiness and equal access to educational opportunities in the District. Working in two teams, SAC members developed a peer-to-peer mentoring program for District students and built a resource website for students looking for guidance and insight into college and career opportunities.

2017-18 Student Advisory Committee

Name School
Tallya Rhodes, Student Representative H.D. Woodson HS
Tatiana Robinson, Student Representative Ballou HS
Aaliyah Dick Woodrow Wilson HS
Agustin Pereira Martinez School Without Walls HS
Aniyah Fields Thurgood Marshall Academy
Ayia Evans Benjamin Banneker HS
Chandler Nutall School Without Walls
Charlotte Mestrich School Without Walls
Daniel Osmin Rodriguez Benjamin Banneker HS
Davine Holsey H.D. Woodson HS
De Jesus Ray Vincent Lagman Benjamin Banneker HS
Diana Shea BASIS DC
Dwight Harris Ballou HS
Emilia Majersik Woodrow Wilson HS
Emma K Quigg BASIS DC
Hannah Dunn Woodrow Wilson HS
Jamiah Hall Roosevelt HS
Janae Chambers Friendship Collegiate Academy
Jasmin Woodruff Benjamin Banneker HS
Jerome Foster II Washington Leadership Academy
John Carlos Garcia Capital City Public Charter School
Marcia Bailey Cesar Chavez PCS- Parkside
Menkhu-ta Whaley Thurgood Marshall Academy
Natalie Seablom Woodrow Wilson HS
Nathaniel Hutton The Lab School
Zachary Crouch Benjamin Banneker HS


2016-17 Student Advisory Committee Final Report

In its second year, the Student Advisory Committee continued its mission to promote student voice within the District of Columbia Public Schools and public charter school systems. Student Representatives and SAC co-chairs Alex Dorosin and Jamiah Hall led the committee in writing a final proposal for a system promoting administrative accessibility and other improvements to the high school student experience.

The State Board of Education approved the Student Advisory Committee’s final report at its June 2017 public meeting.

2016-17 Student Advisory Committee

Name School
Alex Dorosin, Student Representative Woodrow Wilson HS
Jamiah Hall, Student Representative Roosevelt HS
Tavian Southall Thurgood Marshall Academy
Nathaniel Hutton The Lab School
Jasmin Woodruff Benjamin Banneker HS
Lucas Colella Woodrow Wilson HS


2015-16 Student Advisory Committee Final Report

By a unanimous vote in their first meeting, the Student Advisory Committee selected the topic of Teacher Accountability as their area of focus for the year. The SAC met four times over the course of the 2015­-16 school year, with each meeting representing a distinct step in the process of developing a set of policy proposals for the State Board of Education. You can read the full final report here. At the State Board’s June public meeting, the final SAC report was presented and passed unanimously.

2015-16 Student Advisory Committee

Name School
Brian Contreras, Student Representative School Without Walls
Destinee Whittington, Student Representative Richard Wright PCS
Joshua Adams Friendship PCS – Tech Prep
Jack Nugent School Without Walls
JaRhonda Roberts Friendship PCS – Collegiate Academy
Nate Green KIPP DC – College Prep
Natalie Seablom Wilson HS
Mykaila Lofton BASIS DC PCS
Alex Dorosin Wilson HS