Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.



Announcing the 2018-19 Student Representatives and Student Advisory Committee

Thursday, July 12, 2018
Tatiana Robinson and Marjoury Alicea to join SBOE

The DC State Board of Education (SBOE) is pleased to announce the selection of Tatiana Robinson, a rising senior at Frank W. Ballou High School, and Marjoury Alicea, a rising senior at Capital City Public Charter School, as Student Representatives for the 2018-19 school year.

For the length of their term, the Student Representatives will join the nine elected State Board members in their policy discussions, community engagement and will bring the voice of students directly to decision makers. They will also serve as co-chairs of the Student Advisory Committee, a volunteer group of more than 30 District students from more than 16 District high schools in both DC Public Schools and the public charter sector.

Ms. Robinson is returning for her second term as Student Representative. She plays four sports, is dual-enrolled at Howard University, sits on the DCPS Student Cabinet, and takes part in Ballou’s robotics team and girls’ mentoring program. Ms. Alicea is a member of the debate team, serves as a reading mentor, and volunteers as a food justice ambassador. She is the founder and president of her school’s ACLU club.

“We welcome Tatiana and Marjoury to our Board and look forward to their contributions,” said Karen Williams, President of the State Board of Education. “Our student representatives provide tremendous perspective on how the policies we make impact students’ educational experiences in their individual schools.”

The State Board began an open application process for both the Student Representative positions and the Student Advisory Committee in May, welcoming applicants from both District public and public charter school students. The SBOE sought students who were passionate about serving their local community, as these individuals bring a vital voice to the table in the decision-making process for education policy in the District.

The Student Advisory Committee serves as the voice of students in the State Board’s work. They are consulted on issues of policy before the Board. The Student Advisory Committee meets at least once per month. Each year, the Committee sends the SBOE a report on a matter of importance to District students, providing recommended next steps.

Below is the full list of members on the 2018-19 Student Advisory Committee:

Name School Grad Year
Marjoury Alicea, co-chair Capital City PCS 2019
Tatiana Robinson, co-chair Frank W. Ballou HS 2019
Aaliyah Dick Woodrow Wilson HS 2019
Aaron Spruill    Friendship Collegiate Academy HS 2019
Akhayla Reynolds McKinley Technology HS 2019
Aleghzia Smith Friendship Technology Preparatory HS 2019
Anna Brosowsky DC International School 2021
Arnedja Evans Duke Ellington School of the Arts 2020
Ayodeji Okuleye Washington Latin Public Charter School 2019
Chandler Nutall School Without Walls HS 2019
Daniel Rodriguez Benjamin Banneker HS 2019
Diana Shea BASIS DC 2019
Emma Quigg BASIS DC 2019
Hannah Dunn Woodrow Wilson HS 2019
Hannah Dorosin Woodrow Wilson HS 2020
Henry Addison Jr. Benjamin Banneker HS 2020
Imani Horton Duke Ellington School of the Arts 2020
Janae Chambers Friendship Collegiate Academy HS 2019
Jayna Brown Duke Ellington School of the Arts 2019
Jerome Foster II Washington Leadership Academy 2020
Joseph Soltani    Eastern Senior High School 2019
Kasai Rogers DC International School 2020
Kaya Myers Thurgood Marshall Academy 2019
Khiya Derricott Washington Latin PCS 2019
London Hart SEED PCS 2019
Maya Woods-Arthur Washington Latin PCS 2019
Maya Gray Benjamin Banneker HS 2020
N'yana Martin Thurgood Marshall Academy 2019
Raquel Robinson    Friendship Technology Preparatory HS 2021
Sifan Hunde Benjamin Banneker HS 2019
Siraj Carter    Columbia Heights Educational Campus (CHEC) 2020
Syamyia Beach Frank W. Ballou HS 2019
Winston Wardlaw    DC International School 2021
Zachary Crouch Benjamin Banneker HS 2019

If you are interested in joining the work of the Student Advisory Committee, contact us at [email protected]. For more information, please visit