Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.



DC State Board of Ed Establishes Student Advisory Committee

Monday, March 30, 2015


Washington, DC – The State Board of Education has established a Student Advisory Committee to advise the State Board on matters that directly impact students across the District. The Student Advisory Committee will be a voice for all students in the District of Columbia and a communication link between the State Board and other education decision-makers and students. Committee members will also engage in service-learning projects that will help them develop their leadership skills. This initiative has been led by the State Board's Student Representatives, Brian Contreras (School Without Walls) and Betel Asfaha (Benjamin Banneker Academic High School).

Committee members will meet at least four (4) times a year and will also conduct student forums throughout the District.

The Student Advisory Committee is comprised of 17 students. Five (5) students will be selected from the most populous DCPS high schools; five (5) students will be selected from the most populous public charter high schools. Five (5) additional students will be selected from other schools. The State Board’s Student Representative will co-chair the Student Advisory Committee.

The application is attached to this release and will be available online at Additionally, applications will be sent electronically to school leaders and principals and will be available through community organizations. Applications may also be picked up at the State Board of Education office at 441 4th Street NW, Suite 723N Washington, DC 20001.

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a District of Columbia resident;
  • Be a sophomore, junior, or senior in either a traditional public high school (District of Columbia Public Schools) or a public charter high school; and
  • Possess a GPA of 2.5 or above on a 4.0 scale.

Applicants who wish to submit their application via email may do so at [email protected]. All applications must be received in the office of the State Board of Education by close of business Wednesday, April 29, 2015.